Illinois General Assembly Approves Pension Reform Agreement

House Speaker Michael Madigan (D) Chicago, describes the shuttle diplomacy role he played in the final days and hours leading up to the vote in an exclusive newsmaker interview on the program.

Two of the conference committee members, Rep. Elaine Nekritz (D) Northbrook and Rep. Darlene Senger (R) Naperville provide an in-depth discussion of the agreement’s details.  Later, Sen. Daniel Biss (D) Evanston, a conference committee member and Sen. David Luechtefeld (R) Okawville, an Assistant Senate Republican Leader, explain the reasons for their votes.  Biss was one of 30 senators voting for the bill.  Luechtefeld was one of 24 senators voting “no.”  The House approved the bill 62-53.  Union officials representing state workers and retirees say the changes are unconstitutional and are planning a legal challenge.

0 Responses. Comments closed for this entry.